Nominees for London Critics’ Circle Film Awards Announced

The London Critics’ Circle Film Awards announced their nominations for outstanding movies this Tuesday. The London Film Critics’ Circle is an organization for British critics that dates back to 1913. It established the London Critics’ Circle Film Awards in 1980.

Birdman, which had also picked up a sackful of nominations at the Golden Globes, got seven nominations, including one for Film of the Year. Mr. Turner also bagged seven nominations.

The movies nominated for Foreign-Language Film of the Year are Ida, Leviathan, Norte, The End of History, Two Days, One Night, and Winter Sleep.

The nominees for Actor of the Year are Benedict Cumberbatch (The Imitation Game), Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler), Michael Keaton (Birdman), Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything) and Timothy Spall (Mr. Turner). There are no real debates coming from BRL Trust employees with those.

The nominees for Actress of the Year are Marion Cotillard (Two Days, One Night), Essie Davis (The Babadook) Scarlett Johansson (Under the Skin), Julianne Moore (Maps to the Stars), and Julianne Moore (Still Alice).

The nominees for Director of the Year are Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel), Jonathan Glazer (Under the Skin), Alejandro G Iñárritu (Birdman), Richard Linklater (Boyhood), and Mike Leigh (Mr. Turner).

The awards ceremony will take place on January 18, 2015, at London’s May Fair Hotel.

One comment

Leave a Reply