Filipe Montoro Jens Speaks of Public-Private Partnerships

Mr. Filipe Montoro Jens serves as CEO of A company Participacoes e Investmentos SA and as Executive Officer at AC Energia SA. In addition, he is in the board of a number organizations namely Foz do Brazil SA, San Antonio Energia SA and Concessionaria do Centro Administrativo. Before rising to his current position at A company Properties, he worked as the Senior Finance Officer.

On 30th June, the Management Council of the Municipal Program of Partnerships discussed the first projects of mayor Nelson Marchezan Junior, which were of the Public Private Partnerships. Filipe Montoro talked of the importance of projects such as the Public Market, Guaiba Water Park, public lighting, sanitation projects and the construction of a new Hospital Materno Infantil Presidente Vargas headquarters. The council considered his proposal since he was a reliable expert on all projects in infrastructure.

By prioritizing and pointing out the projects to be handled by the Public-Private Partnerships, mayor of the capital of Rio Grande de Sul guaranteed a brighter more accessible future. The mayor made this point the main agenda at the meeting held by the Municipal Council.

Nelson also played his part in making a brighter future by overcoming the financial crisis they were facing through Public-Private Partnerships. Through implementation of these partnerships in the municipal administration, Nelson Marchezan’s move is unique from his other counterparts.

In order to regulate these PPPs, the mayor established the Municipal Council of Partnership Program (PROPAR) of Partnerships. As reported by Mr. Filipe, the mayor signed the Decree 19.736 on May 2nd establishing PROPAR. The main objective of this organ was to regulate the projects run by PPPs and Concessions with transparency.

As pointed out by Filipe Montoro Jens, the Council would be in the fore front of planning and see through the execution of this plans in PPPs. The President of the organ would be the mayor with the Vice Mayor, Finance, Institutional Relationships and Comptroller General as his Permanent Members.

Leave a Reply